Spacer Image

This site uses cookies. Learn more about cookies.

OverDrive would like to use cookies to store information on your computer to improve your user experience at our Website. One of the cookies we use is critical for certain aspects of the site to operate and has already been set. You may delete and block all cookies from this site, but this could affect certain features or services of the site. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, click here to see our Privacy Policy.

If you do not wish to continue, please click here to exit this site.

Spacer Image

  Main Nav
Five Times Revenge
Cover of Five Times Revenge
Five Times Revenge
Borrow Borrow Borrow

Five unlikely friends. Two bullies. One epic prank. Part The Breakfast Club and part The View from Saturday, this funny, heartwarming novel about friendship and standing up for yourself will appeal to fans of Chris Grabenstein and Jennifer L. Holm.

Adam is the prank mastermind. Perk is his best friend and the computer genius. Pearl is the prettiest girl in school—and a violin prodigy. Ray looks like a big dumb jock, but he secretly wants to be an engineer. And Dutch is the often-bullied dork who is in tune with everyone's feelings. The five of them couldn't be more different. But there's one thing they have in common: they are fed up with Hill Parmar, the school bully—and his dad, their school principal who's always turning a blind eye. When Hill finally steps over the line, the five unlikely schemers band together for a prank like their middle school has never seen. Lindsay Eland weaves the five alternate points-of-view together for an accessible and funny school story—and a friendship story—for every reader.

Five unlikely friends. Two bullies. One epic prank. Part The Breakfast Club and part The View from Saturday, this funny, heartwarming novel about friendship and standing up for yourself will appeal to fans of Chris Grabenstein and Jennifer L. Holm.

Adam is the prank mastermind. Perk is his best friend and the computer genius. Pearl is the prettiest girl in school—and a violin prodigy. Ray looks like a big dumb jock, but he secretly wants to be an engineer. And Dutch is the often-bullied dork who is in tune with everyone's feelings. The five of them couldn't be more different. But there's one thing they have in common: they are fed up with Hill Parmar, the school bully—and his dad, their school principal who's always turning a blind eye. When Hill finally steps over the line, the five unlikely schemers band together for a prank like their middle school has never seen. Lindsay Eland weaves the five alternate points-of-view together for an accessible and funny school story—and a friendship story—for every reader.

Available formats-
  • Kindle Book
  • OverDrive Read
  • EPUB eBook
Languages:-
Copies-
  • Available:
    1
  • Library copies:
    1
Levels-
  • ATOS:
    4.5
  • Lexile:
  • Interest Level:
    MG
  • Text Difficulty:
    3

Recommended for you

Reviews-
  • Kirkus

    April 1, 2016
    Five middle school students come together to orchestrate the downfall of a school bully. Adam Baker, a white eighth-grader at Anderson Middle School, is tired of being bullied by Principal Parmer's son, Hill, the kind of smarmy kid who is late for school every morning, bullies half of the kids in school, cheats on every test, and copies homework. The kid who tapes "kick me" signs on classmates, throws kids against lockers, and dumps milk on people's lunch trays. Adam finds four students who have been victims of Hill's abuse to join him in concocting a plan to bring Hill down. What might have been another not-so-funny middle school melodrama of pranks and social meanness becomes a heartwarming tale of necessary revenge exacted through an ingenious scheme. The five co-conspirators--all victims, all reluctant outsiders in the school's social cosmos--come together and find friendship and a sense of belonging with one another. The five new friends' stories are told in short, alternating chapters, each related as a tightly focused third-person narrative. The kids emerge as fully rounded characters; of particular note are biracial black/white Pearl, who has a list of microaggressions as long as her arm, and detention-magnet Dutch, who has a facial tic and lives with his grandfather. This big, fast-moving tale of students who unite to take a stand against bullies and find friendship in the process is a keeper. (Fiction. 8-14)

    COPYRIGHT(2016) Kirkus Reviews, ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.

  • School Library Journal

    May 1, 2016

    Gr 4-8-Five eighth-grade students plot and pull off an audacious revenge plot against the two biggest bullies at their school: classmate Hill Parmar and his father, the school's racist, embezzling principal. The story proceeds from a vicious bullying incident, in which Hill "persuaded [a protagonist's developmentally disabled brother] Tommy to play hide-and-seek after school, then locked him up in a utility room, with a sign that said 'Kick me, I'm retarded.' " While everyone involved has suffered some degree of bullying at the hands of Hill Parmar and his father, this incident proves a bridge too far. Rather than offering intricate plotting, this upper-middle grade novel focuses on the five protagonists' growth and development. How these characters come together to confront bullying and end up better understanding themselves and one another is what will pull tween readers in and keep them engaged when this fairly lengthy story's pace flags on occasion. Eland creates a cast of relatively fleshed-out, largely empathetic protagonists to whom a wide range of readers will be able to relate, with laudable attention paid to the microaggressions dealt with by the story's biracial violin prodigy.

    Copyright 2016 School Library Journal, LLC Used with permission.

  • Kirkus Reviews "A heartwarming tale of necessary revenge exacted through an ingenious scheme...This big, fast-moving tale of students who unite to take a stand against bullies and find friendship in the process is a keeper."
  • Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books "Eland strikes just the right balance of humor and heart as she gives each character enough depth to flesh out their identities without ever losing sight of the bigger (and comedic) scheme at hand. ...readers will be cheering the team on and laughing at their antics."
  • School Library Journal "How these characters come together and confront bullying and end up better understanding themselves and one another is what will pull tween readers in and keep them engaged...Eland creates a cast of . . . empathetic protagonists to whom a wide range of readers will be able to relate."
Title Information+
  • Publisher
    HarperCollins
  • Kindle Book
    Release date:
  • OverDrive Read
    Release date:
  • EPUB eBook
    Release date:
Digital Rights Information+
  • Copyright Protection (DRM) required by the Publisher may be applied to this title to limit or prohibit printing or copying. File sharing or redistribution is prohibited. Your rights to access this material expire at the end of the lending period. Please see Important Notice about Copyrighted Materials for terms applicable to this content.

Status bar:

You've reached your checkout limit.

Visit your Checkouts page to manage your titles.

Close

You already have this title checked out.

Want to go to your Checkouts?

Close

Recommendation Limit Reached.

You've reached the maximum number of titles you can recommend at this time. You can recommend up to 99 titles every 1 day(s).

Close

Sign in to recommend this title.

Recommend your library consider adding this title to the Digital Collection.

Close

Enhanced Details

Close
Close

Limited availability

Availability can change throughout the month based on the library's budget.

is available for days.

Once playback starts, you have hours to view the title.

Close

Permissions

Close

The OverDrive Read format of this eBook has professional narration that plays while you read in your browser. Learn more here.

Close

Holds

Total holds:


Close

Restricted

Some format options have been disabled. You may see additional download options outside of this network.

Close

You've reached your library's checkout limit for digital titles.

To make room for more checkouts, you may be able to return titles from your Checkouts page.

Close

Excessive Checkout Limit Reached.

There have been too many titles checked out and returned by your account within a short period of time.

Try again in several days. If you are still not able to check out titles after 7 days, please contact Support.

Close

You have already checked out this title. To access it, return to your Checkouts page.

Close

This title is not available for your card type. If you think this is an error contact support.

Close

An unexpected error has occurred.

If this problem persists, please contact support.

Close

Close

NOTE: Barnes and Noble® may change this list of devices at any time.

Close
Buy it now
and help our library WIN!
Five Times Revenge
Five Times Revenge
Lindsay Eland
Choose a retail partner below to buy this title for yourself.
A portion of this purchase goes to support your library.
Clicking on the 'Buy It Now' link will cause you to leave the library download platform website. The content of the retail website is not controlled by the library. Please be aware that the website does not have the same privacy policy as the library or its service providers.
Close
Close

There are no copies of this issue left to borrow. Please try to borrow this title again when a new issue is released.

Close
Barnes & Noble Sign In |   Sign In

You will be prompted to sign into your library account on the next page.

If this is your first time selecting “Send to NOOK,” you will then be taken to a Barnes & Noble page to sign into (or create) your NOOK account. You should only have to sign into your NOOK account once to link it to your library account. After this one-time step, periodicals will be automatically sent to your NOOK account when you select "Send to NOOK."

The first time you select “Send to NOOK,” you will be taken to a Barnes & Noble page to sign into (or create) your NOOK account. You should only have to sign into your NOOK account once to link it to your library account. After this one-time step, periodicals will be automatically sent to your NOOK account when you select "Send to NOOK."

You can read periodicals on any NOOK tablet or in the free NOOK reading app for iOS, Android or Windows 8.

Accept to ContinueCancel